Scholarships in Mecklenburg

Charlotte Clemson Club Fort Hill Society Annual Scholarship

Award: $2,900, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a resident of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg, N.C. area, must be a graduate of a Mecklenburg County public or private high school, a recipient of the Philip H. Prince Alumni Presidential Scholarship, and have a minimum cumulative 2.5 GPA.


Cameron Morrison Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: January 16

Applicant must be a graduate of a public high school in Richmond or Mecklenburg County, N.C., have a minimum 3.85 GPA, and demonstrate leadership and community and school service. Selection is based upon merit and financial need. Interview required of finalists.


Thomas Edwin Nott IV Endowed Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a resident of Spartanburg County S.C. or Mecklenburg County N.C., and must have a minimum 2.5 GPA.


William Tasse Alexander Scholarship

Award: $6,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a resident of Mecklenburg County.


Crowder Scholarship

Award: $6,000, Deadline: February 15

Applicants parents must work for general contracting companies who are members of ACG and head-quartered in Mecklenburg County, N.C.


Rotary Scholarship

Award: $6,000, Deadline: April 1

Applicant must be a graduate of CPCC who plan a four-year degree at a senior college located in Mecklenburg County, N.C.


Spirit Square Center for Arts and Education Scholarship

Award: $6,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a resident of Mecklenburg or surrounding counties.


HSF/Wal-Mart Stores High School Scholarship Program

Award: $2,500, Deadline: January 31

Applicant must be a United States citizen or legal permanent resident with a permanent resident card or passport stamped I-551 who is of Hispanic heritage. Applicant must be a graduating high school senior with a minimum 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale who plans to enroll as a full-time student in a degree-seeking program at a four-year accredited institution in the United States, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, or Guam during the upcoming academic year. FAFSA is required. Program will begin as of fall 2009.


Michael A. Demayo Scholarship

Award: $2,500, Deadline: February 24

Applicant must be a current high school (or home-schooled) senior with a minimum cumulative 3.0 GPA who attends school and lives in the following counties of North Carolina: Mecklenburg, Gaston, Catawba, Union, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Lincoln, Rowan, Caldwell, Stanly, Iredell, Alexander, Burke, Robeson, Scotland, Richmond, Anson and Cumberland; or South Carolina: York, Lancaster, Chesterfield, Marlboro and Dillon. Applicant must be accepted for full-time enrollment or be planning to pursue a degree at an accredited four-year college or university. To access the scholarship, click on the community service tab on the sponsor's website and then scholarship program.


Union Power Cooperative College Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: n/a

Applicant must a child of a Union Power Cooperative member or live in a home served by Union Power Cooperative. Must be a high school senior who plans to attend a four-year North Carolina accredited college or university and must reside in one of these five counties: Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, and Union.