Scholarships in Public Administration

Krista A. Eldridge Memorial Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a graduating senior from Greensburg or North Decatur High School who will attend an accredited post-secondary institution. Minimum 2.5 GPA required.


Wade and Helen Sue Ward Memorial Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: April 10

Applicant must be a graduating senior from Crisfield, Holly Grove Christian or Washington High School.


Yvonne Brathwaite Burke Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: January 17

Applicant must be a full-time student at California State University Dominguez HIlls majoring in criminal justice, economics, labor studies, political science or public administration. Minimum 3.0 GPA required.


Anne Rudin Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: June 5

Applicant must be a female undergraduate student in the Sacramento area who is enrolled in public administration, government, or public policy related programs.


Harry S. Truman Research Grant

Award: $2,500, Deadline: April 1; October 1

Graduate students and post-doctoral scholars are most encouraged to apply, but others completing advanced research will be considered. Preference is given to research dealing with enduring public policy and foreign policy issues that have a high chance of being published or otherwise shared publicly. Applicants can receive up to two research grants in a five-year period. Grant winners must submit a report at the end of their studies.


Presbyterian Church USA Student Opportunity Scholarships

Award: $2,000, Deadline: May 15

Applicants must be members of the Presbyterian Church (USA) who have completed their second year of college. They must be enrolled full-time and have a GPA of 2.5 or greater. Students must be pursuing a bachelor's degree in education, health service/science, religious studies, sacred music or social service/sciences. Financial need is required. Preference is given to members of racial and ethnic minorities.


Political Leadership Scholarship

Award: $3,250, Deadline: January 13

Applicants must be residents of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon or Washington and be high school seniors or college or graduate students (community college, four-year public or private college or university, certificate program, vocational/technical/trade programs, law school, medical/dental/veterinary school or graduate education). Students must be members of the LGBTQ and allied community and display leadership either within the LGBTQ community or within their field of study and demonstrate financial need. Students with additional barriers to education as well as those who are economically, racially, socially, geographically or politically disenfranchised will be given consideration as well. Students should be studying law, political science, public policy, or public administration with the goal of improving rights for LGBTQ people. Preference will be given to LGBTQ students of color and low-income or first-generation college students.