Scholarships in Philosophy And Religion

Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship in Humanistic Studies

Award: -, Deadline: December 19

Applicant must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, must plan to enter a Ph.D. program in the humanities, plan a career in college teaching, and present evidence of outstanding academic promise. Applicant must take the GRE test by December 1.


Charlotte W. Newcombe Dissertation Fellowship

Award: $25,000, Deadline: November 12

Applicants must have completed all pre-dissertation requirements. The dissertation can be in any field and must deal with the study of ethical or religious values in some area of human endeavor. Applicants working on D. Min., law, and other professional degrees are not eligible.


Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship for Minorities

Award: $24,000, Deadline: November 14

Applicant must be U.S. citizen or national who is an Alaskan Native, Native American, black/African-American, Mexican American, Pacific Islander, or Puerto Rican. Applicant must have completed no more than 30 semester/45 quarter hours of graduate work in fields eligible for support.


Ford Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship for Minorities

Award: $35,000, Deadline: Early January

Applicant must have completed a Ph.D. or Sc.D. within seven years, be a U.S. citizen or national, and be an Alaskan Native, Native American, black/African-American, Mexican-American, Pacific Islander, or Puerto Rican.


ACLS/New York Public Library Fellowship

Award: $65,000, Deadline: September 28

Applicant must identify specific resources and benefits to be gained from affiliation with the Center for Scholars and Writers. Applicant must be selected by both ACLS Committee and the New York Public Library. Applications must be submitted through the ACLS Online Fellowship Application system (OFA). OFA is accessible through the Fellowship and Grant Programs section of the web site. Applicant must apply separately to the Cullman Center at the New York Public Library (


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


Grace Brooks and E. Perry Palmer Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: March 15

Applicant must be a graduate from a high school in the Community Foundation's 11-county service area who will pursue a degree in Philosophy and Religion at Claflin University, or a postgraduate seminary degree at an accredited institution. Minimum 2.5 GPA required.


Liberal Arts and General Studies Degrees - Undergraduate Scholarship

Award: $500, Deadline: April 1

Applicant must be a United States citizen or permanent resident who is a graduating high school senior or currently enrolled in a college or university pursuing an associates or bachelor's degree in one of the following areas: consumer sciences, cultural studies, ethnic studies, gender studies, geography, history, leisure studies, military studies, philosophy, political science, religious studies, social science, or social services.


Presbyterian Church USA Student Opportunity Scholarships

Award: $2,000, Deadline: May 15

Applicants must be members of the Presbyterian Church (USA) who have completed their second year of college. They must be enrolled full-time and have a GPA of 2.5 or greater. Students must be pursuing a bachelor's degree in education, health service/science, religious studies, sacred music or social service/sciences. Financial need is required. Preference is given to members of racial and ethnic minorities.