Scholarships in Journalism, Broadcast

Catherine Jean MacDonald Memorial Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: March 1

applicant must be a resident of Bay County, MI who will study the fine arts. Financial need must be demonstrated.


WJZ-TV Jerry Turner Broadcast Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: April 2

Applicant must be a resident of Maryland who will pursue a degree in broadcast journalism at an accredited four-year college or university. Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA required.


Joe Holstead Gridiron Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: December 31

Applicant must be enrolled in an accredited post-secondary institution in Texas or a resident of Texas pursuing a degree in broadcast journalism. Minimum 2.25 GPA required.


Lina Davis Scholarship

Award: $2,000, Deadline: December 31

Applicant must be a resident of Arlington, TX, a graduate of Arlington High School, or a be enrolled in a Tarrant County college or university who is preparing for a career in news media. Minimum 2.5 GPA required.


Career Journalism Scholarship

Award: $2,500, Deadline: January 5

Applicant must be a high school senior in Pinellas, Hillsborough, Pasco, Hernando, or Citrus counties in West Central Florida who is pursuing a media/journalism career. Essay, letter, website OR portfolio, and three letters of recommendation required.


Wilson W. Carnes Scholarship

Award: $300, Deadline: February 1

Applicants must be current FFA members and high school seniors or college students planning to enroll or currently enrolled full-time. Students only need to complete the online application one time to be considered for all FFA-administered scholarships. The application requires information about the student's activities and a 1,000-word essay. Awards may be used for books, supplies, tuition, fees and room and board.


Lebanese American Heritage Club Scholarships

Award: -, Deadline: April 6

Applicants must U.S. citizens and Michigan residents and have a GPA of 3.0 or higher (3.5 for graduate students). They must maintain full-time status. Special consideration is given to students majoring in mass communications, political science and related fields, those enrolled or planning to attend institutions that contribute to the Arab American Scholarship Fund and those who did not receive the scholarship in the preceding year.


E. Lanier (Lanny) Finch Scholarship

Award: $1,500, Deadline: December 31

Applicants must be Georgia residents and full-time students at an accredited college or university. Students must be rising juniors or seniors pursuing degrees in some aspect of the broadcasting industry. Selection is based on scholastic records, extracurricular activities, community involvement and leadership potential.


Harry Barfield KBA Scholarship Program

Award: $2,500, Deadline: April 24

Applicants must be attending a college or university in Kentucky and major or plan to major in broadcasting or telecommunications. Preference is given to second semester sophomores, and funds are awarded in the junior year and renewable for the senior year. Applicants should have a minimum 3.0 GPA, although some consideration will be given to those with lower who have exceptional credentials otherwise.


KAB Broadcast Scholarship Program

Award: -, Deadline: May 1

Applicants must be Kansas residents and be attending a Kansas college or university the fall semester after application. Those attending four-year institutions must be entering the junior or senior year, and those attending two-year institutions must be entering their sophomore year. Students must enroll in a broadcast or related curriculum for at least 12 hours. A GPA of 2.5 or greater is required.


Texas Broadcast Education Foundation Scholarships

Award: $5,000, Deadline: Open

Applicants must be TAB student members or attend a TAB member college or university. All eligible applicants must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and enroll full-time in a program that emphasizes radio or television broadcasting or communications at a college or university in Texas.