Scholarships in Drama And Dance Teacher Education

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts Internship

Award: -, Deadline: June 15 (fall); November 1 (spring); March 1 (summer)

Applicant must be interested in a career in performing arts management or arts education and must submit a cover letter, resume, transcript, two letters of recommendation, and writing sample.


ACLS/New York Public Library Fellowship

Award: $65,000, Deadline: September 28

Applicant must identify specific resources and benefits to be gained from affiliation with the Center for Scholars and Writers. Applicant must be selected by both ACLS Committee and the New York Public Library. Applications must be submitted through the ACLS Online Fellowship Application system (OFA). OFA is accessible through the Fellowship and Grant Programs section of the web site. Applicant must apply separately to the Cullman Center at the New York Public Library (


CRT Internship Program

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be pursuing a degree in the field for which they are applying or have equivalent work experience.


Art Scholarship Graduate Level

Award: $5,000, Deadline: February 1

Applicant must be an Alberta resident and be enrolled full time in a graduate program studying drama, dance, literary art, music, or the visual arts.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


ISF Scholarship

Award: $10,000, Deadline: March 21

Applicant must be Muslim or an active member of the Muslim community who is enrolled at an accredited university as an undergraduate (sophomore, junior, or senior) or graduate student (including Ph.D.) in the United States who is majoring in one of the sponsor's supported majors as found on their website. Minimum 3.0 GPA and United States citizenship/permanent residence required.


John Nagy Memorial Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be an undergraduate or graduate student pursuing education in the areas of fine arts or performing arts. Preference will be given to graduates from Lorain County high schools. FAFSA and Student Aid Report are required. Award amount is determined by committee.


Bosworth Memorial Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: May 1

Applicant must be a resident of Blackford County who has participated in the arts and/or is intending to pursue post secondary education in the fine or dramatic arts.


Christine Schaefer Theatre Scholarship

Award: $500, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a graduating high school senior who participated in KidsPlay, Inc. programs for at least two years and plans to pursue a theatrical degree in performance and/or education. Minimum 2.0 GPA required.


Charles Owen 'Corky' McCormick IV Memorial Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a graduate of a Johnson County high school who resides in Johnson County and will major in music or theatre full-time at a two- or four-year college or university. Minimum 2.75 GPA required.


Jerry Juhl Fund for the Arts

Award: $2,000, Deadline: April 13

Applicant must be a Mendocino, Fort Bragg, or Point Area high school senior who plans to attend a four-year college or university and study the performing arts, including music, dance, theatre, film, and puppetry. Selection based upon potential for career success in the performing arts and their prior academic performance. Minimum 3.0 GPA is desired, but not required.


T. Scott Eaton Scholarship Fund

Award: $500, Deadline: February 6

Applicant must be a resident of Floyd, Giles, Montgomery, or Pulaski Counties, or from the City of Radford. Applicant must be pursuing a post-secondary degree in theatre or fine arts. Minimum 2.0 GPA required.


Catherine Jean MacDonald Memorial Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: March 1

applicant must be a resident of Bay County, MI who will study the fine arts. Financial need must be demonstrated.


Delray Beach Playhouse Ernest G. Simon Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: February 1

Applicant must reside near the Delray Beach Playhouse and be majoring in theater.


Stephen L. Teller & Richard Hotson TV, Cinema, and Theater Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: n/a

Applicant must be a full-time student enrolled in a Cinema, Film/Television, or Theater program at a community college and preparing for a career in film, television, or theater production. Must have completed at least 12 credits.


Thespian Scholarships

Award: -, Deadline: April 1

Applicants must be seniors in high school, active members of the International Thespian Society and planning to major or minor in communicative arts. Most of the scholarships require an audition or tech portfolio.