Scholarships in Tarrant

Franklin Lindsay Loan

Award: $7,000, Deadline: December 1

Applicant must be a U.S. citizen and a Texas resident attending a college or university full time in Texas and have a minimum 2.0 GPA (undergraduate) or a minimum 3.0 GPA (graduate). Selection is based upon academics. Financial need may be considered.


Ted S. and Cuba Webb Scholarship

Award: $2,500, Deadline: April 1

Applicant must have high SAT Reasoning or ACT scores. Preference given to applicant who has graduated from an accredited high school in the greater Forth Worth and/or Tarrant County, Texas, or adjacent geographical area.


HSF/Nissan Community College Transfer Scholarship

Award: $2,500, Deadline: January 31

Applicant must be a United States citizen or legal permanent resident with a permanent resident card or passport stamped I-551 who is of Hispanic heritage. Applicant must be currently enrolled at a community college with a minimum 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale and have plans to transfer and enroll as a full-time student pursuing a degree in business, engineering, communications, or media arts at a four-year accredited institution. FAFSA is required. Program will begin as of fall 2009.


Texas County Graduate Out of State Waivers

Award: -, Deadline: February 1

Applicant must be in a graduate program and reside in one of the following Texas counties: Archer, Baylor, Childress, Clay, Collin, Collingsworth, Cooke, Cottle, Dallas, Denton, Donley, Foard, Gray, Hall, Hardeman, Jack, Montague, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, and Wise.


The Dallas Morning News Journalism Scholarship

Award: $1,500, Deadline: April 27

Applicant must be a United States citizen or legal, permanent resident who is a graduating senior of a North Texas high school with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Applicant must show a demonstrated aptitude for print journalism and plan to pursue a four-year degree in journalism.


Tomy Tranchin Award

Award: $1,500, Deadline: March 6

Applicant must be a high school student in North Texas with a physical, emotional, or intellectual disability.


Lina Davis Scholarship

Award: $2,000, Deadline: December 31

Applicant must be a resident of Arlington, TX, a graduate of Arlington High School, or a be enrolled in a Tarrant County college or university who is preparing for a career in news media. Minimum 2.5 GPA required.


The Michael E. Farah Scholarship

Award: $500, Deadline: August 1

Applicant must be a resident of Tarrant County, TX, who plans to attend a college or university within the state of Texas. Financial need and 500-word essay required. Interest in pursuing a career in real estate and/or law is preferred.


Morris Hite Memorial Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: October 24

Applicant must be a junior or senior college student in the following North Texas counties: Collin, Cooke, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Grayson, Johnson, Kaufman or Tarrant pursuing a bachelors or masters degree in an advertising related major. Minimum 3.0 GPA, one to three letters of recommendation, and essay required. Work samples are encouraged but not required.