Scholarships in Nursing Science (post-r.n.)

Health Research and Educational Trust Health Career Scholarships

Award: $2,000, Deadline: June 15

Applicants must be New Jersey residents. They must be undergraduate juniors, undergraduate seniors or graduate students enrolled in a nursing, allied health professions, healthcare administration or hospital administration degree program. Applicants must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and must demonstrate financial need. Selection is based on the quality of the personal essay submitted as part of the application.


H.M. Muffly Memorial Scholarship

Award: $2,500, Deadline: October 31

Applicants must be Colorado residents who are planning to practice nursing in Colorado. They must be juniors or seniors working towards the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN); Registered Nurses (RNs) pursuing the bachelor's degree or higher in a school of nursing; practicing RNs pursuing a doctoral degree in nursing or second- or third-year Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) students. Undergraduates must have a GPA of 3.25 or higher, and graduate students must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher. Selection is based on GPA, financial need, recommendations, community involvement and commitment to professional practice in Colorado.


Margaret A. Pemberton Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: April 15

Applicants must be U.S. citizens, be graduating seniors who are students at a Washington, DC high school and be accepted into a National League for Nursing bachelor's degree program at a U.S. postsecondary institution. They must have a GPA of 2.8 or higher and must demonstrate financial need. Selection is based on the overall strength of the application.


MARILN Professional Scholarship Award

Award: -, Deadline: July 31

Applicants must be Massachusetts or Rhode Island residents and have lived in Massachusetts or Rhode Island for at least four years before having entered that practical nursing program. They must be full-time students who have completed two consecutive semesters of their program of study. Selection is based on stated career goals and professional potential.


Phillips/Laird Scholarship

Award: $2,000, Deadline: June 1

Applicants must be members of the Minnesota Nurses Association (MNA) who are enrolled in a bachelor's or graduate degree program in nursing with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Preference will be given to applicants who live or work in MNA District 13. Selection is based on academic merit, extracurricular activities, stated career goals and leadership.


Nightingale Awards of Pennsylvania Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: March 14

Applicants must be Pennsylvania residents who are enrolled in or have been accepted into a Pennsylvania nursing program in licensed practical nursing, registered nursing or graduate-level nursing practice. They must have completed at least one course in nursing and must have a B average or better. Previous recipients of this scholarship are ineligible. Selection is based on academic achievement, leadership ability, extracurricular activities and professional dedication to nursing.


South Carolina Nurses Foundation Nurses Care Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: May 31

Applicants must be South Carolina residents and be enrolled in an undergraduate registered nurse (RN) degree program or a graduate degree program in nursing. They must be in good academic standing, have plans to practice nursing in South Carolina after graduation and must demonstrate financial need. Selection is based on the overall strength of the application.


Jane Delano Student Nurse Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: May 11

Applicants must be enrolled in an accredited nursing school and be in good academic standing. They must have volunteered with a Red Cross unit at least once within the past five years and have completed at least one academic year of college at the time of application. Selection is based on the overall strength of the application.


Critical Care Scholarship Program

Award: $2,500, Deadline: April 30

Applicants must be California residents pursuing a degree in healthcare/nursing. Students are required to submit an essay on the designated topic found on the website. After applicants are narrowed down, the essays will then need to be shared on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn or other social networking page and receive votes. Contest runs quarterly.


GE-NMF Primary Care Leadership Program

Award: $5,000, Deadline: January 31

Applicants must be members of underrepresented minority groups or from socioeconomically disadvantaged backgrounds. Students must be currently enrolled in medical school or a graduate-level nursing or physician assistant program.