Scholarships in Rhode Island

Cheryl A. Ruggiero Scholarship

Award: $1,300, Deadline: January 10

Students must be residents of the state of Rhode Island, and they must have at least a 3.0 GPA. Applicants must submit a short essay and a letter of recommendation.


Carl W. Christiansen Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: January 9

Students must have at least a 3.0 GPA. Applicants must submit a short essay and a letter of recommendation.


Buddy Pelletier Surfing Foundation Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: June 1

Applicants must be members of the East Coast surfing community. Rising high school seniors, current undergraduate college students and returning students may apply regardless of age. Two letters of recommendation and a 500-word essay are required. Previous applicants and winners may reapply each year.


Clauder Competition Prize

Award: $3,000, Deadline: Open

Applicants must live or attend school in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island or Vermont. This requirement may be waived for playwrights who have previously lived in New England and produce material relevant to the area. They must submit a full-length play that is an original work and has not been produced or published.


Dunkin' Donuts Rhode Island Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: March 15

Applicants must be high school seniors and Rhode Island residents who excel in academics, demonstrate leadership and participate in school and community activities. They must plan to enroll at least half-time in a bachelor's degree, associate degree or certificate program at an accredited institution of higher learning.


FMC Skaters Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: May 15

Applicants must be a New England resident, a senior in high school and skate at an FMC arena. Selection is based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities, community service and accomplishments and leadership on the ice.


Kent Nutrition Group Inc. FFA Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: February 8

Applicants must be working toward a degree in one of the following fields: animal science, animal nutrition, dairy science, poultry science, equine/equestrian science, agriculture, agricultural science, agricultural business management, economics, finance or marketing and sales. Applicants must attend college in and be residents of one of the following states: Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia or West Virginia. Selection is based on the overall strength of the application.


Metro Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: March 31

Applicants must be U.S. citizens and undergraduates working towards a degree within the textiles arena. They must be attending a college with a student chapter of AATCC in New England, New York or New Jersey. Specific institutions include Buffalo State University, Fashion Institute of Technology, University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth and the University of Rhode Island. Selection is based on scholastic achievement, financial need and work experience/history. Students may apply directly or be nominated by a university department head.


MARILN Professional Scholarship Award

Award: -, Deadline: July 31

Applicants must be Massachusetts or Rhode Island residents and have lived in Massachusetts or Rhode Island for at least four years before having entered that practical nursing program. They must be full-time students who have completed two consecutive semesters of their program of study. Selection is based on stated career goals and professional potential.


Thomas E. Desjardins Memorial Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: Open

Applicants must be civil engineering undergraduates or graduate students who are enrolled at an accredited postsecondary institution in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island or Vermont. They must demonstrate an interest in transportation engineering through their coursework or extracurricular activities. Selection is based on academic merit, character and extracurricular activities.


NACE Eastern Area Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: January 5

Applicants must be a permanent resident of the United States and be enrolled full-time as an undergraduate in an accredited engineering or physical science degree program at a two or four-year college or university. Students must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and have a permanent address within the NACE Eastern Area which includes the following states and/or U.S. Territories: Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Indiana (excluding Lake, Porter La Porte, Newton and Jasper counties), Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia.


NACA Mid Atlantic Higher Education Research Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: September 30

Applicants must be conducting research that will add to the college student personnel knowledge base including projects that focus on campus activities, problems faced by student affairs practitioners and challenges of higher education as they relate to campus activities. High school students are not eligible.


Stephen Phillips Memorial Scholarship Fund

Award: $18,000, Deadline: May 1

Applicants must be U.S. residents or resident aliens who are permanent residents of Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island or Vermont. They must be enrolled in a demanding undergraduate course of study pursuing their first degrees. A GPA of 3.0 or higher is required. Applicants must demonstrate citizenship, character, serious-mindedness and financial need.