Scholarships in Forest Management

James Roy Carter Jr. Endowed Presidential Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a South Carolina resident. Preference is given to residents of Chester, Lancaster, or York counties.


Charles E. Springs Annual Forestry Scholarship

Award: $1,250, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a South Carolina resident from a designated rural area as defined by the Farmers' Home Administration, have a minimum cumulative 2.5 GPA, and demonstrate financial need.


Truman D. Picard Scholarship

Award: $2,500, Deadline: January 18

Applicant must have validated enrollment in a federally recognized Native American tribe or Native Alaska Corporation. Three letters of recommendation, letter of application, transcript, resume, and proof of application to an institution of higher education are required. Minimum award amount is for graduating high school seniors and maximum award amount is for college students.


ITT-Rayonier Foundation Senior Scholarship

Award: $2,000, Deadline: March 15

Selection is based upon leadership, scholarship, and financial need.


Wilse and Else Jennings Scholarship

Award: $2,000, Deadline: March 15

Selection is based upon academic performance, professional potential, financial need, extracurricular activities, leadership, and goals/philosophies stated in application letter.


LaFontaine Memorial Scholarship

Award: $2,000, Deadline: January 30

Selection is based upon financial need.


Associated Oregon Loggers Scholarship

Award: $1,500, Deadline: April 1

Applicant must be an Oregon high school senior who has been accepted to a four-year college or university education program in a forest resources production field of study.


Bartlett Tree Foundation Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: September 7

Applicant must rank in top third of secondary school class and have a minimum composite ACT score of 22. Transfer and upperclass applicant must have a minimum 3.0 GPA. Applicant must demonstrate an interest in a career in arboriculture or urban forestry.


Forestry Department Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: February 1 (Priority)

Applicant must be enrolled at the University of Missouri at Columbia.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.