Scholarships in Osteopathic Medicine (d.o.)

National Health Service Corps (NHSC) Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: Last Friday in March (early application recommended)

Applicant must be a U.S. citizen or national enrolled or accepted into an accredited school in the a full-time student.


Student Loan Program for Health, Science, & Mathematics

Award: $8,500, Deadline: February

Applicant must be a resident of North Carolina and demonstrate financial need.


Postdoctoral Fellowship

Award: $100,000, Deadline: February 6

Applicant must hold a D.O., D.V.M., M.D., or Ph.D. Competitive award renewal application after two years.


Osteopathic Medical Service Scholarship

Award: $15,000, Deadline: May 1

Applicant must be a Kansas resident enrolled in a nationally accredited osteopathy school. Preference is given to first-year students.


NJOEF Scholarship

Award: $8,000, Deadline: April 30

Applicant must be a New Jersey resident and be accepted to a college of osteopathic medicine. Applicant should rank in top quarter of class and have a minimum 3.0 GPA. Selection is based upon academic achievement, financial need, motivation, and professional promise as an osteopathic physician. Recipient must agree to become a member of the New Jersey Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons (NJAOPS) and the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), complete his or her education, receiving the D.O. degree, and participate in AOA-approved internship/residency programs.


Doctoral Dissertation Award for Arthritis Health Professionals

Award: $60,000, Deadline: February 6

Preference given to an arthritis-related dissertation project. Applicant must be a member of his or her professional organization. Award is for non-laboratory research and is to be used for a salary stipend or research support. Applications will be available May 1.


Medical Student Loan

Award: $5,000, Deadline: May 15

Applicant must be a medical student obtaining a M.D. or D.O. degree. Applicant must have established permanent ties to Broome County, NY, and be attending an accredited medical or osteopathic institution in the United States or Canada.


Professional Student Exchange Program

Award: -, Deadline: October 15

Applicant must be a resident of participating state and attend an approved program at a WICHE participating program.


Hugh J. Andersen Memorial Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: April 21

Applicants must be an underrepresented minority student enrolled as a second or third year student in a Minnesota medical school. Students must demonstrate leadership and community service.


William and Charlotte Cadbury Award

Award: $5,000, Deadline: April 21

Applicants must be senior minority medical students at an accredited U.S. medical school. Students must demonstrate outstanding academic achievement, leadership and community service.


Aura E. Severinghaus Award

Award: $2,000, Deadline: August 31

Applicant must be an underrepresented minority student who is in their senior year at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University. Applicant must have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and community service.


Franklin C. McLean Award

Award: $5,000, Deadline: April 21

Applicant must be a senior, underrepresented minority student enrolled in an accredited United States medical school. Applicant must demonstrate outstanding academic achievement as indicated in academic transcripts, faculty evaluations, by receipt of special academic honors, fellowships, awards, or induction into national medical honor societies; leadership as indicated by active participation in community-based work or initiation of innovative projects in school or community; and potential for distinguished contributions to medicine as indicated by participation in research, publications, or unique clerkships.


Mary J. and Paul J. Kopsch Scholarship

Award: $2,500, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must have been accepted into medical school (either osteopathic or allopathic). Students in six-year programs will be considered in year three and above. FAFSA, Student Aid Report, and tax returns are required.


Paul S. McCord, D.O. Memorial Scholarship

Award: $1,500, Deadline: April 27

Applicant must be a student from the third-year class at Midwestern University, Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine who has demonstrated a desire for and is committed to providing medical services in underserved and/or disadvantaged areas.


William G. Anderson, D.O. Minority Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: April 27

Applicant must be an outstanding minority osteopathic medical student who is committed to osteopathic principals and practice, has excelled academically, and has proven to be a leader in addressing the educational, societal, and health needs of minorities.


Hinson-Hazelwood Health Education Loan

Award: -, Deadline: May 15

Applicant must be attending a Texas college or university. Selection is based upon financial need and credit. Applicant must be a permanent U.S. resident eligible to pay resident tuition at a Texas public college or university.


Physician Education Loan Repayment Parts I and II (For Post-Residency Practicing Physicians)

Award: $9,000, Deadline: August 1

Applicant must be a physician practicing in an approved specialty, in an approved practice site.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


Dan & Pauline Lutkenhouse & Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: February 19

Applicant must be a resident of the Hilo and Hamakua coasts and be majoring in agriculture, medicine, science or nursing.


Viola L. Allen and Oscar A. Allen Scholarship Fund

Award: $4,000, Deadline: April 13

Applicant must be a female Ukiah High School senior or graduate with serious interest in pursuing a career in the medical field. Selection based upon financial need and prior academic achievement.


Zelma Gray Medical School Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: March 31

Applicant must be a resident of Guernsey County, OH who will enroll in an accredited medical school or college in the United States.


Welch Scholars Grant

Award: $2,000, Deadline: May 14

Applicant must be a osteopathic student who is in good standing at an AOA accredited college of osteopathic medicine (COM). One student from each COM will be selected for this grant.


McCaughan Heritage Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: April 27

Applicant must be an osteopathic medical student who is in good academic standing and is in his/her last-year of studies (OMS IV) at an AOA-accredited college of osteopathic medicine.


Hispanocare Student Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: October 3

Applicant must be a U.S. citizen of latino descent who resides in Illinois and is pursuing a degree in the healthcare field. Minimum 3.0 GPA, minimum composite ACT score of 21, essay, copy of transcript, resume, three letters of recommendation, copy of most recent tax return, and proof of citizenship required.