Scholarships in Gerontological Services

Elderhostel K. Patricia Cross Doctoral Research Grant

Award: $5,000, Deadline: March 31

Applicant must be a doctoral student researching topics relevant to aging and later-life learning. Graduate students whose research focuses on topics relevant to Elderhostel or later-life learning are also encourage to apply.


Upward Bound Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a R.N., L.P.N., or C.N.A., be a member of or be sponsored by a member of NADONA/LTC, and be employed in Long Term Care with plans to remain employed in Long Term Care for at least years after graduation. Applicant must submit an essay of at least 100 words describing why they are seeking the degree.


Glenn/AFAR Breakthrough in Gerontology Awards

Award: $200,000, Deadline: December 15

Applicant must be a full-time faculty member at the rank of Assistant Professor or higher with a strong record of independent publication beyond the postdoctoral level. The proposed research in the basic biology of aging must be conducted at any type of not-for-profit setting in the United States. Former AFAR Research Grant awardees may apply.


Paul Beeson Career Development Award

Award: $800,000, Deadline: November 23

Applicant must have a clinical doctoral degree (M.D., D.O., D.D.S.) or its equivalent (this may include individuals holding both a M.D. and Ph.D. degrees as well as individuals with a Ph.D. in clinical fields such as clinical psychology, nursing, or physical therapy). Selection is based upon academic merit, the quality and originality of the research project, a well-developed mentorship plan, and the commitment of the sponsoring institution.


Edward Henderson Student Award

Award: $500, Deadline: December 1

Applicant must be interested in pursuing a career in geriatrics, demonstrate a commitment to the field of geriatrics, be nominated by one faculty member with at least two supporting nomination letters from other faculty members, and must submit a curriculum vitae, personal statement describing interest in geriatrics and supporting materials, such as copies of research papers, abstracts, or reports, and a syllabus of the applicant's current program.


Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Clinical Investigation

Award: -, Deadline: December 1

Applicant must have graduated from medical school on or after June 1980, be a U.S. or Canadian resident, be nominated, and submit a curriculum vitae, reprints of up to three publications illustrating the applicant's most important contributions, and at least one letter of recommendation.


Nascher/Manning Award

Award: -, Deadline: December 10

Applicant must have a distinguished, life-long career in clinical geriatrics having achieved distinction in the field through activities such as innovative program development or administration of outstanding clinical programs. Applicant must be nominated and submit at least one letter of support from colleagues and a curriculum vitae.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


AvaCare Mdical Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: December 15

Applicants must be at least 13 years of age, have a minimum 3.0 GPA and be a U.S. citizen. Students must be studying or planning on studying a medicine related field. Students must be at least a high school senior. AvaCare Medical offers an annual scholarship for an inspiring act of kindness. Selection is based on judge scores as well as public votes. Submission may be in the form of a blog post, an image or a short video clip. Finalists are selected based on content, creativity and quality of work.