Scholarships in Water Transportation Workers, Other

John C. Robbins Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: November 1

Applicant must have a major that is considered beneficial to the New York State water works. Selection is based upon academic achievement and extracurricular activities.


Whirly-Girls Flight Training Scholarship

Award: $4,500, Deadline: October 31

Applicant must be a woman, demonstrate financial need, and possess a current airplane, glider, or balloon rating, and a current medical. Award is to obtain an additional Rotorcraft Helicopter Rating.


Walter B. Sinnott Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: November 1

Applicant must be enrolled full time at an accredited U.S. college or university and demonstrate academic achievement, involvement in extracurricular activities, and financial need.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


IWC Master of Integrated Water Management Scholarship

Award: $79,311, Deadline: August 1 (international students); October 1 (domestic students)

Applicant must apply for the MIWM program through The University of Queensland (UQ) and receive an unconditional offer of admission in the program. Applicant must meet the following minimum eligibility requirements: A completed undergraduate degree in a related field of study from an internationally-recognized institution; at least two years of professional experience (paid work or volunteering experience) relevant to the program and following completion of an undergraduate degree. Applicants with relevant professional experience have a higher chance of securing a scholarship. International students must also demonstrate English language proficiency.


Frank J. Richter Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: July 1

Applicant must be enrolled as a full-time undergraduate sophomore, junior, senior, or graduate student at an accredited college/university. Preference given to transportation field majors. Minimum 2.75 GPA, official transcript, and two letters of recommendation required.


Iowa Interstate Railroad Ltd. FFA Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: February 1

Applicants must be pursuing a major in one of the following fields: agronomy, plant breeding and genetics, economics, finance, pulp and paper technology, transportation, crop science, plant science or agricultural business management. A minimum 3.0 GPA is required. Applicants must live in Iowa and plan to attend a college in Iowa or Illinois. Preference is given to applicants with a specific interest in transportation. Selection is based on the overall strength of the application.


CH2M Hill Partnership Scholarship

Award: $10,000, Deadline: Open

Applicants must be women in undergraduate or graduate programs involving transportation-related studies. Selection is based on the applicant's academic record, specific transportation goals and transportation-related activities or job skills.


E.J. Sierieja Memorial Fellowship

Award: $2,000, Deadline: November 15

Applicants must be full-time graduate students, majoring in transportation and active members. Students may not apply directly for this scholarship and must be nominated. The award is based on academic ability, character, leadership, potential service to the industrial engineering profession and financial need. Preference is given to students focusing on rail transportation.