Scholarships in Mass Communications

NAHJ General Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: March 30

Applicant must submit a sample of best work, resume, recommendations, essay, transcript, financial need statement, parents' W-2 forms, and application. Selection is based upon academic excellence, demonstrated interest in a journalism career, and financial need. For application, send a self-addressed, stamped envelope with request.


Young Professionals International

Award: $12,000, Deadline: May 1

Applicant must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident who has recently graduated or is about to graduate from an institution which is a member of or affiliated with AUCC. Applicants who are presently studying in the United States are not eligible.


Harold E. Ennes/Robert Greenberg Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: July 1

Applicant must have a career interest in the technical aspects of broadcasting and must be recommended by two members of the SBE. Preference is given to SBE members and applicants who are employed at least part-time in broadcast engineering. Recipient must submit 400- to 500-word technical paper on broadcast engineering topic at end of award term.


McMahon Memorial Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: February 7

Selection is based upon GPA, standardized test scores, and personal interview.


Newhouse Scholarship

Award: $10,000, Deadline: January 31

Applicant must be enrolled full time and must submit transcript, resume, samples of best work, reference letters, essay, financial need statement, and parents' W-2 forms. Selection is based upon academic excellence, demonstrated interest in a journalism career, and financial need. Award is given for two years. Recipient receives funding to attend the NAHJ convention as well as an internship during the summer between junior and senior year.


Robert C. Ziegler '84 Memorial Scholarship

Award: $1,050, Deadline: February 13

Applicant must be a full-time junior or senior student, have a minimum 3.0 GPA, submit evidence of outstanding achievement in communications, and demonstrate financial need.


Departmental Talent Waivers

Award: -, Deadline: July 15


Robert E. and Allie Malvina Stephenson Political Journalism Scholarship

Award: $4,000, Deadline: February 25


Philip L. Graham Minority Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: March 15

Applicant must be a minority student from the Jacksonville or Miami area.


Joseph L. Brechner FOI Graduate Assistantship

Award: $12,000, Deadline: March 15

Applicant must be willing to work 13 hours per week as editor of the "Brechner Report" newsletter for the Brechner Freedom of Information Center. Preference is given to doctoral students who are interested in mass media law and who have extensive journalism experience.


Student Publication/Leadership Award

Award: $1,000, Deadline: July 1

Applicant must demonstrate skills in production, editing, writing, or design of student publications. Selection based on portfolio sample, letter of recommendation, and participation in student government, peer counseling, prefects, civic organizations, or club activities.


ACLS/New York Public Library Fellowship

Award: $65,000, Deadline: September 28

Applicant must identify specific resources and benefits to be gained from affiliation with the Center for Scholars and Writers. Applicant must be selected by both ACLS Committee and the New York Public Library. Applications must be submitted through the ACLS Online Fellowship Application system (OFA). OFA is accessible through the Fellowship and Grant Programs section of the web site. Applicant must apply separately to the Cullman Center at the New York Public Library (


John D. Graham Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: May 9

Applicant must be enrolled in a journalism program, public relations studies or courses preparing for a career in public relations, and entering their senior year of undergraduate studies in the fall.


West Virginia Broadcasters Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: January 15

Applicant must be West Virginia resident and an employee or family member of an employee of a station that is a member of the West Virginia Broadcasters Association. First priority given to applicants in the broadcast field; second to applicants who demonstrate financial need. GPA and any unusual circumstances are also considered.


J. Edward McEvoy Scholarship

Award: $1,240, Deadline: February 13

Applicant must have a minimum 3.0 GPA and a departmental 3.25 GPA. Statement of personal and professional goals and three references required.


RDW Group, Inc. Minority Scholarship For Communications

Award: $2,000, Deadline: April 21

Applicant must be a Rhode Island resident.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


Manship Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: January 1

Applicant must be a Manship Scholar


Matthew Burdick Memorial Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: May 1

Applicant must be a graduating senior from Robinson High School who will major in journalism or mass communication.


Staley and Beverly McBrayer Gridiron Scholarship

Award: $2,000, Deadline: December 31

Applicant must be enrolled in an accredited post-secondary institution in Texas or a resident of Texas pursuing a degree in journalism. Minimum 2.25 GPA required. Preference to applicant who demonstrates excellence in student media or as a professional intern.


HBO Point Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: January 21

Applicant must be a high school senior, community college, undergraduate, or graduate student who identifies as a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer.


Kathryn Louise Davison Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: n/a

Applicant must be a graduating senior from Mansfield High School in Massachusetts who intends to major in English or teaching. Academic excellence, involvement in extracurricular activities and financial need must be demonstrated.


Rob Branham Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: August 1

Applicants must attend or be accepted to an accredited university or technical or trade school. They must major in advertising, marketing, broadcast media or print production. They must be sponsored by a member of the Advertising Club of Connecticut. Selection is based on GPA (20 percent), essay (30 percent), work experience and activities (30 percent) and SAT/ACT scores (20 percent).


Mas Family Scholarships

Award: $8,000, Deadline: January 30

Applicants must be majoring in or have plans to major in business, communications, economics, engineering, international relations or journalism. They must demonstrate leadership potential and a commitment to success in a democratic, free enterprise society. Selection is based on academic merit, personal essay, leadership ability, professional potential and character.