Scholarships in Film/video And Photographic Arts, Other

New York Women in Communications Foundation Scholarship

Award: $10,000, Deadline: January 15

Applicant must be a student from New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, or Pennsylvania majoring or (for high school seniors) declaring a major in a communications-related field with a minimum GPA of 3.2. Selection is based upon academic excellence and need and involvement in the field of communications.


Princess Grace Awards in Theater, Dance, and Film

Award: $25,000, Deadline: March 31 (theater); April 30 (dance); June 1 (film)

Applicant must be a United States citizen or permanent resident. Applications, essays, letters of recommendation, resume, and work samples are required to be submitted.


David L. Wolper Student Documentary Achievement Award

Award: $1,000, Deadline: June 11

Award is to recognize exceptional achievement in nonfiction film and video production at the university level and to bring greater public and industry awareness to the work of students in the documentary field. Applicant must be a registered, matriculating student and submit videotape with synopsis, application form, and entry fee.


Vermont Alliance for Arts Education (VAAE) Scholarship

Award: $500, Deadline: March 9

Applicant must be a graduating high school senior from Vermont who will pursue a degree in the arts at an accredited school approved for federal Title IV funding. Financial need, academic achievement and significant skill and talent in an artistic medium must be demonstrated.


Pare Lorentz Award

Award: $2,500, Deadline: June 11

Awarded to a documentary film that best reflects the democratic sensibility, activist spirit, and lyrical vision of Pare Lorentz. Applicant must be a registered, matriculating student and submit videotape, synopsis, and entry fee.


Carole Fielding Student Grant

Award: $4,000, Deadline: December 15

Applicant must be an undergraduate or graudate student who is sponsored by an active member of the University Film & Video Association or staff at a UFVA member institution. Applicant must submit a one-page project description, one-page resume, statement by sponsoring UFVA member, and budget. Production applicants must submit a 30 minute narrative, 60 minute documentary, and an experimental/animation/multimedia treatment or script, and/or storyboard (not to exceed 8.5 X 11 inches). Research applicants must submit a description of methodology and a statement indicating the relationship of proposed study to previous research in the field.


National Association of Black Journalists Scholarship

Award: $2,500, Deadline: March 17

Applicant must be a NABJ student member who is currently attending an accredited four-year university. Applicant must be enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student majoring in journalism (print, radio, online, or television), with a minimum 2.5 GPA. Four complete packets which in include the application form, resume, essays, transcripts, and work samples are required to be submitted.


ABCNEWS VideoSource Award for The Best Use of News Footage in a Documentary

Award: $2,000, Deadline: June 11

Awarded to a film or video which best uses news footage as an integral component of the work. Applicant must be a registered, matriculating student and submit videotape with synopsis, application form, and entry fee.


Iowa Arts Council Scholarship for the Arts

Award: $1,500, Deadline: February 1

Applicant must be an Iowa resident who will graduate from an Iowa high school and who has been accepted as a full-time undergraduate student at a fully-accredited Iowa college or university with a major in at least one of the following arts areas: dance, literature, music, theatre, folk/traditional arts, or visual arts.


Sherman Fairchild Foundation Conservation Fellowship

Award: $22,500, Deadline: December 2

Applicant must be a qualified candidate from the United States and abroad who have already reached an advanced level of training or experience.


Hilla Rebay International Internship

Award: $15,000, Deadline: September 30

Award is a nine-month internship with three months each at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York, the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain, and the Peggy Guggenheim Collection in Venice, Italy. Preference is given to doctoral-level applicants. Fluency in English, Spanish, and Italian required.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


Theatre/Film/Dance Incentive Award

Award: $4,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must execute an audition and an interview. Selection is based upon academic potential and financial need.


Arnott, Duane Spencer Memorial Scholarship in Media Production and Studies

Award: $250, Deadline: March 17

Applicant must have completed a minimum of 90 credit hours towards a B.F.A. or B.A. degree who is enrolled in the fall semester, in addition to working on a final year project. Minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA required.


Kerdragon Scholarship

Award: $10,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be a graduate of an Oregon high school who has not yet attended college and will major in fine arts, graphic arts, or photography at least half time. FAFSA required.


Leslie B. Durst Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: April 30

Applicant must be a graduate of the Vancouver School for Arts and Academics who will pursue an education in the arts.


Student Academy Awards Competition

Award: -, Deadline: June 1

Applicants must be full-time students at an accredited U.S. college, university, film school or art school. Films must be made as a part of a school curriculum in the categories of alternative, animation, documentary or narrative. Selection is based on originality, entertainment, production quality and resourcefulness. A film under 40 minutes is required.


KODAK Student Scholarship Award

Award: $5,000, Deadline: May 16

Applicant must be a university or college student pursuing a degree in film or film production. A film submission, nomination by a school or department official, and letter of support are required.