Scholarships in Linguistics

Woodrow Wilson Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Humanities

Award: $30,000, Deadline: January 21

Applicant must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident with a Ph.D. from a U.S. or Canadian institution.


Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowship for Recently Tenured Students

Award: $75,000, Deadline: October 2

Applicant must be a U.S. or Canadian citizen or permanent resident. Award is intended to support an academic year of residence at any national residential research centers. Program encourages exchanges across disciplinary lines that can be especially helpful to deepening and expanding the significance of projects in the humanities and related social sciences. Applications must be submitted through the ACLS Online Fellowship Application system (OFA). OFA is accessible through the Fellowship and Grant Programs section of the web site.


ARIT/NEH Fellowships

Award: $50,400, Deadline: November 1

Applicant must be a United States citizen or three-year resident affiliated with the U.S. who has completed formal training in their field of study (in the areas of humanities or interdisciplinary aspects of cultural history).


Modern Language and Linguistics Award

Award: -, Deadline: November 1 (Priority)


Warthern Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: November 1 (Priority)


Ruffin Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: November 9; February 1

Applicant must be an incoming freshman student with a minimum combined SAT Reasoning score of 1200 (minimum composite ACT score of 27) who is majoring in english, foreign language, history, linguistics, or writing.


American Graduate Fellowships

Award: $50,000, Deadline: October 17

Applicants must be graduating seniors or recent graduates of an eligible undergraduate institution. Applicants must intend to enter a doctoral program in one of the eligible fields of study during the subsequent academic year. Applicants must be citizens of the United States.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


Modern Languages and Linguistics Award

Award: -, Deadline: November 1 (Priority)


Warthen Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: November 1 (Priority)


Jacob Javits Fellowship

Award: -, Deadline: August 31

Applicant must not have completed his or her first year of graduate school and the fifth year of a five-year baccalaureate/master's degree is applicable. Applicant must demonstrate financial need and submit a FAFSA application.


Mellon Fellowship

Award: -, Deadline: December 1

Applicant must be applying for a Ph.D program and cannot hold a Master's degree.


Jordanian Graduate Student Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: February 1

Applicants must be Jordanian graduate students enrolled in a Jordanian university. Students must be pursuing degrees related to Jordan's cultural heritage such as archaeology, anthropology, linguistics/epigraphy, history, conservation, museum studies and cultural resource management.