Scholarships in Library Science/librarianship

LITA/Christian Larew Memorial Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: April 1

Selection is based upon academic excellence, leadership potential, prior experience, and commitment to career in library automation and information technology. Economic need is considered when other criteria are equal.


Louise Nixon Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: April 15

Applicant must be accepted into an ALA-accredited graduate school or into a program that meets ALA/AASL curriculum guidelines. Applicant must be have been a Nebraska resident and an NLA member for the past year, and must have been an employee of a Nebraska library for at least one year. Transcripts, three letters of recommendation, essay, and estimate of expenses required.


Jean Blake Ferguson Library Science Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: March 1

Selection is based upon financial need.


Patricia Collins Amaral Memorial Fund

Award: $600, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must be a senior who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who has demonstrated the finest qualities of leadership through participation in campus organizations and has rendered service of significant benefit to the campus community.


Alumni Association Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 15

Applicant must demonstrate community leadership and have met the award criteria established by the Alumni Association's Scholarship Committee. Applicant must have completed 12 credits last semester and 24 credits at Bridgewater State College as of December 31. Applicants who have transferred from Massachusetts Community Colleges, Dean College, or Quincy College are eligible to apply.


Alma Arbuckle Scholarship

Award: -, Deadline: February 5


ISF Scholarship

Award: $10,000, Deadline: March 21

Applicant must be Muslim or an active member of the Muslim community who is enrolled at an accredited university as an undergraduate (sophomore, junior, or senior) or graduate student (including Ph.D.) in the United States who is majoring in one of the sponsor's supported majors as found on their website. Minimum 3.0 GPA and United States citizenship/permanent residence required.


Oregon Library Association Scholarship

Award: $10,000, Deadline: March 1

Applicant must be enrolled or planning to enroll in graduate study toward the Master of LIbrary Science or comparable degree at a four-year public or nonprofit college or university. FAFSA and essay required.


Dorothy Ezell DuPree Scholarship

Award: $3,000, Deadline: May 1

Applicant must be a graduating senior from Jefferson County who will major in library science.


Stephanie G. Hoffman Scholarship Fund

Award: $5,000, Deadline: November 1

Applicant must be a Jewish undergraduate or graduate student who has been accepted to or is attending an accredited college or university program and is majoring in library science, English literature, or related field with the intention of working with underserved children to excite them through reading to pursue higher education. Applicant's parents must be permanent residents of the greater San Francisco Bay Area.


Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship

Award: $7,500, Deadline: March 1

Applicants must intend to pursue an MLS degree, plan to work in children's librarianship and be U.S. or Canadian citizens. Selection is based on academic excellence, leadership and desire to work with children in any type of library.


MLA Scholarship

Award: $5,000, Deadline: December 1

Applicants must be either entering or less than half-way through an accredited graduate school program in a field relevant to library science and be U.S. or Canadian citizens or permanent residents.


MLA Scholarship for Minority Students

Award: $5,000, Deadline: December 1

Applicants must be African-American, Hispanic, Asian, Native American or Pacific Islander and entering or currently attending an ALA-accredited library school and be no more than halfway through the program. Applicants must also be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or Canada.


California School Library Association Southern Region Teacher Librarian Scholarship

Award: $1,000, Deadline: September 23

Applicants must be currently enrolled in a school library media credential program or master's degree program. Candidates must be residents of the California School Library Association Southern Section region and must provide two letters of recommendation.